I Joined Habitat for Humanity of Santa Cruz County!

Here is a little story about my joining a worthy organization. I was born in San Jose, California. My parents (Frank and Rose) raised me in San Jose, California. I graduated from High School in San Jose, California. I earned my BS degree from the California State University at Hayward and my MBA from the University of Santa Clara. However, during both my college days and my graduate school days I lived in San Jose, California. In fact, I lived in San Jose, California almost all of my life except when I chose to move in with Marti in Aptos, California. I moved in with Marti at age 64.

After moving to Aptos, California I was lost. I had spent all of my past life in the city of San Jose, California. I had lived in the great Silicon Valley. In fact, I not only lived in Silicon Valley I grew up during the same time the valley was changing from a wonderful agricultural valley into the world’s original Silicon Valley. Sure I had spent time in Santa Cruz County. First as a boy I remember visiting the area with my parents for a day at the beach. My parents loved the beaches at Seacliff and New Brighton. They were very pleased with the little city of Capitola. I remember spending my summers at the Venetian. It is a beautiful condo that is located on the beach. The Venetian condos are next to a river, it is really the Soquel Creek that flows into the Monterey bay. There were occasional times when our family would visit the beach for just one day. I remember those very long walks back to the family car from the beach. Parking was a problem then and still is a problem today.

As a young man I remember going to the beach with my buddies so we can pick up girls. Those were fun trips but I do not remember picking up many girls. Some of my best memories were visiting the beaches and towns with my girlfriend, Monica. We enjoyed both the beach and the boardwalk. I married her and we lived a wonderful life for thirty-eight years until she passed away. We would take our daughters to the beach for a picnic and I would watch them play in the surf. It was always fun and always beautiful. I even worked in the city of Santa Cruz for five years at an electronic manufacturer of headsets, Plantronics. That was my experience with Santa Cruz County.

