Just a Note: Today I will include some photos of the ruins of this ancient Inca village.  On the following days I will provide more and more photos.  I hope you enjoy this photo session.

After viewing all four floors of exhibits as well as some Ecuadorian art, we moved outside to view the actual ruins. The excavation was very massive. It covered multiple acres with a lake, farm land and over fifty foundations for ancient homes. We were able to see birds, fish in the lake, and actual Inca farming methods. I was very impressed. The Incas not only farmed for food but they raised plants for medicine. I would like to say that I enjoyed walking both up and down the side of the mountain but I am getting old and both going up and down tend to take me a little longer than earlier in my lifetime.
We departed the Museum and the excavation and took a cab to the area of Cuenca known for silver jewelry. Marti thought she died and was taken to heaven. We finally found a jeweler who seemed to produce his own works. Marti was very happy. Looking through his inventory and having to purchase for people other than her added to the pleasure. Soon she had a selection of jewelry and I had the pleasure of discussing the price. The jeweler explained how the price of silver has done nothing but go up and up. He felt his prices were reasonable and did not want to reduce them at all. We spent a long time in discussion and all I could do was reduce the price by $10.00. I guess Marti’s negotiation skills are rubbing off on me. Much poorer we headed back to the hotel. I was very tired but Marti was very happy.
Well after a brief stop at the hotel we headed over to the Villa Rosa for lunch. We walked passed it the first time and had to double back. The Villa Rosa is a restaurant in a converted home. The ambience is very peaceful and restful. Once seated you must deal with the menu that is only written in Spanish. However, after trying to guess what to select our waiter provided us with a special service and read the menu to us. Marti ordered a white wine but when delivered it was much too sweet so they brought another white wine selection and it was perfect. We then ordered a salad to share followed by medallions of beef with Italian cheese, and Lamb chops. The beef was accompanied by a fresh tomato salad, and a side of homemade ravioli. The tomato salad was fresh with a light olive oil dressing and the ravioli were made with very thin pasta and stuffed with fresh spinach. Our lamb was accompanied by some fresh vegetables of carrots and string beans, both cooked just right so that they still had a slight crunch, and to round out the plate creamy mashed potatoes. Stuffed we declined desert and I returned to the hotel and Marti went out to shop.
On our way back to the hotel we stopped at a specialty candy shop. We selected some candies that appealed to us and then Marti saw something she thought would appeal to her mother. We then purchased some additional candies for her mother. These candies were of the Blessed Mother Mary and Gloria feels that she and the virgin have a special bond. Later in the evening Marti and I enjoyed our selection of candy. I fell asleep before Marti and when I awoke in the morning I discovered that someone must have crept into our room and eaten some of the candy we selected for Marti’s mother. I am sure we will return to the candy shop today and replace the candy. Just think whoever entered our room did not even wake me up.

Just a Note: Today I will include some photos of the ruins of this ancient Inca village.  On the following days I will provide more and more photos.  I hope you enjoy this photo session.

