I was crushed and disappointed inside the box was not my watch, not my Hugo Boss rose gold colored watch but a woman wrist watch. It wasn’t even a Hugo Boss woman’s wrist watch it was just a small faced woman’s wrist watch that was so small I could hardly see it. I was very, very disappointed.

The next day I took the woman’s watch to Macy’s in Capitola, California. I explained what had occurred and was surprised to find a saleslady at Macy’s who was so helpful that she was able to return the woman’s watch and re-order my Hugo boss watch so that all I had to was return home and start the long waiting process all over again. I thanked the sales clerk. I was so grateful that I went home and wrote a letter to Macy’s. In a letter I thanked Macy’s and the wonderful sales persons.

The Letter to Macy’s

I went to the Macy’s Store in Capitola and asked a Macy’s store clerk by the name of Emmele (woman’s section) where I could find customer service.  She informed me that anyone working a cash register could assist me. In fact, she went on to state that she would be happy to help me.  I explained the problem about the wrist watch. She solved my problem.  She was wonderful.  She called the watch department in the Capitola store, and then called the other store, and the next thing I knew the problem was gone and my account was credited.  I was a very Happy customer.  She restored my faith in Macy’s.

A few days later my order arrived at my house.  I was very happy!  I would have my wrist watch for a very important meeting on Wednesday.  I opened the box and much to my surprise the box contained a woman’s wrist watch.  It was silver; It was small; It just did not look good on my wrist.  What was I to do?

I choose to take the women’s wrist watch back to the Capitola store.  Once there I went back to Emmele and explained the problem.  Again she was wonderful.  She did not hide or try to escape she just stepped forward and heard my story.  Then she started to help me. 

Soon another person arrived, her name was Jessica, and she was the manager of the watch department.  Together they worked on my problem and soon it was resolved.  I am back home now awaiting my new mans wrist watch.  I think Macy’s should recognize the service provided first by Emmele and then by Jessica. 

This type of problems could have turned me away from Macy’s in the future.  However, the support and assistance provided by these two Macy’s employees turned something negative into something positive.  They are why I will continue to shop at Macy’s!

