On our trip downstairs, we discovered the door that opened onto a private garden. Inside this very private garden and along the walls of the gardens were the tombs of the former bishops of the Cathedral. The bodies of the bishops were laid to rest in stone crypts. This was because the garden was located on the second floor of the cathedral. Just think, in addition to building this enormous Cathedral, these ancient workers also built a flourishing garden on the Cathedral’s second floor. The gardens were lovely and flocks of birds would fly into the garden. A toilet was located on this floor of the cathedral. I needed to use the toilet, so I entered and completed my business. Lucky for me I only had to urinate. Upon a close examination of the bathroom facility, I noticed not only a lack of paper to dry my hands but there was no toilet paper either. I made a mental note to myself that on our next outing; I would bring some toilet paper along just in case.

Departing the second floor, we walked down the stairs and into the main Cathedral. At first glance, it was breathtakingly beautiful, but as my eyes became accustomed to the lack of light, I could see the strong need of some restoration. The giant paintings hanging on the wall were very dark, and the forces of gravity had made them sag. You could see ripples at the bottom of the painting that look just like the waves on the top of the ocean. The statues located on pedestals and on the cathedrals walls in nooks were in desperate need of cleaning. The colors were dull and it was hard to see the expression on the faces of the statues. There was one item that was bright; it was the gold on the altar. The workers had used gold to cover items over the altar. Considering that this Cathedral was completed around 1245 and was a converted mosque, you would think the Portuguese would want to restore this Cathedral. Thinking back to my early days of history class, I remember that the Moore’s invaded and ruled Spain and Portugal some time after the fall of Rome.

