Once again I will be on vacation during the month of May. This means that I will be away for my youngest daughter’s birthday. This is not the first time I missed my daughter Susan’s birthday. In fact I have missed it a few times before.  It does make me feel bad but it is the best time to go on vacation. If I start my vacation in the spring before the schools close the sites are much less crowded.

This year I may miss her birthday but I will not miss her wedding.  Susan originally planned her wedding for the month of April so I scheduled my vacation for May.  She is now getting married in June and I am happy that I will be back from my vacation in time for her wedding. She asked me to walk her down the aisle and I feel honored.  Marti will be with me so we will both enjoy the ceremony.

Sue has two children.  Her son Michael is her oldest and he will graduate high school this year.  Monica is her young daughter and will be promoted to second grade.  Bruce is her fiancé and will soon be my son-in-law.  I am a lucky man to have such a wonderful family.

My daughter Sue is a nurse and she works with children who have a long-term or fatal illness.  Sue would like to work for the Lucille Packard Children’s Hospital at Stanford should the opportunity ever come about. I am very proud of my daughter and her choice of profession.  I remember a time long ago when Sue volunteered to spend her summer at a camp for disabled children.  She worked as an assistant to the children.  Sue loves her work and the children she is happy if she can make just one child smile.  If you are looking for a charitable organization to donate a little money please consider the Lucille Packard Children’s Hospital at Stanford. Their e-mail is http://www.lpch.org/

Sue has been very busy. She is planning her wedding.  She has adjusted to her new responsibility as a nurse and may take some additional classes.  She works most weekends and on her days off she volunteers to help at Monica’s class.  I am sure that is the reason she was unable to send me any photos for their Easter celebration. I love my daughter with or without photos.

